Canadian Rockies

Mission Statement

GBS/CIDP Foundation of Canada improves the quality of life for individuals and families affected with GBS, CIDP & Variants.

Donate Now Through!Guillain-Barré Syndrome Foundation of Canada Inc. is a registered Canadian charity.
Registration number 887327906RR0001

3100 Garden St
PO Box 80060 RPO Rossland Garden
Whitby, ON
L1R 0H1

Phone: 1 (647) 560-6842

Patient Stories’

Recent GBS diagnosis? Read Story of 6 Sisters.

Upcoming Events


Calgary Conference – Saturday September 19, 2015 8:00am-5:00pm

We are excited to announce another conference this year to be held in Calgary, Alberta on September 19, 2015! It will be held at the Courtyard by Marriott Calgary Hotel. Book your group rate for GBS|CIDP Foundation of Canada. We will post more details in the coming weeks and also information on how to register. The foundation will be sending out invitations by mail/email to those on our western mailing list. If you’d like to be added to our contact list, please send an email to Can’t wait to see you there!! Registration is now available! Get form here 

Toronto Support Group Meeting- October 4, 2015 1:30-3:30pm

A Toronto support group meeting will bring together Toronto, and area, patients and their families. Please connect with your Toronto Liaison, Jane Field, by email: or call the foundation at 1-647-560-6842 to receive all future communications for this meeting. Street parking and limited library pay parking available. We hope to see you there!

Toronto Northern District Library

Orchard View Blvd

Gwen Liu Room

Ottawa Support Group Meeting – Sunday November 8, 2015

The foundation is working with MD Quebec to reach out to Ottawa/Gatineau area patients and families by providing 2 separate support group meetings. We are pleased to announce the upcoming fall support group meeting in Ottawa, Sunday Nov 8, 2015. We are excited that Dr. Pierre Bourque, which resides on our Medical Advisory Board, has committed to present at this meeting. We will be providing details on the location and agenda in the coming months. Please let us know by email if you are interested in attending: or call: 1-647-560-6842 so that you receive future communications.

For the Gatineau meeting, we will be posting details on the following link:


Articles of Interest

“GBS/CIDP Foundation of Canada is pleased to communicate the availability of the Octapharma Canada Inc. developed ‘My IVIG Infusion Diary’, a Free Mobile App, which is available for patients receiving Intravenous Immunoglobulin (IVIG) Therapy…”  Read More Here

Vision Statement

The Canadian Foundation continues to support patients & families, & to be recognized as the Canadian resource for GBS, CIDP, & variants. Until a cure is found, we will increase public awareness by educating both the professional & lay communities, & we will raise funds for the research & treatment of the above mentioned disorders.


Executive Director

Donna Hartlen


President and Regional Director

Gail Kammer

Vice President

Sherry Nejedly


Gail Kammer

Honorary Board

Larry Brenneman*
Dr. Tom Feasby
Serge Payer
Dr. Kenneth Shonk

Board of Directors

Deb Bernasky
Denis Dupuis
Gail Kammer
Wilma Koopman
Sherry Nejedly
Sharon Ratelle
Demetrios Strongolos

Medical Advisory Board

Steven Baker, MD
Brenda Banwell, MD
Timothy Benstead, MD
Pierre Bourque, MD
Vera Bril, MD
Kristine Chapman, MD
Colin Chalk, MD
Angela Genge, MD
Gillian Gibson, MD
Angelika Hahn, MD
Hans Katzberg. MD
Kurt Kimpinski, MD
Elizabeth Pringle, MD
Zaeem Siddiqi, MD
Jiri Vajsar, MD
Douglas Zochodne, MD

Founding Director

Susan Keast


Contact Information

Name Email
Gail Kammer, Saskatchewan
Denis Dupuis, Manitoba
Demetrios Strongolos, Ontario
Donna Hartlen, Eastern Ontario
Wilma Koopman, Southwestern Ontario
Sharon Ratelle, Southwestern Ontario
Sherry Nedjedly, British Columbia
Deb Bernasky, Nova Scotia